A big chunk of the cost for having your case expunged in Utah is the fee that the Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification charges to give you a certificate of eligibility and the fee that the Court charges to file your petition. These amount to over $200 for each case.
During the session that just ended, the Legislature passed House Bill 392. Assuming the bill is signed by the Governor, it will temporarily suspend both the Court filing fee and the BCI certificate fee for one year–specifically, from May 4, 2022 to June 30, 2023.
Given that the BCI takes approximately 3 months (give or take) to process an expungement application, it is very likely that most people who apply today (and for the next 10 months or so) will be able to take advantage of the fee suspension. That means now is the time to do those expungements you’ve been considering–whether you plan on handling them yourself, or having an attorney (like me), help you with the process.
You can read more about the expungement process in Utah here. Or if you already know you have some cases you want to expunge, and have just been waiting for the right excuse to finally do them, get in touch with my firm here.